We’re delighted to share a new Steve Gunn video, courtesy of the folks at StereogumThe Quietus, and Rolling Stone Australia. Watch it here on the Stereogum site, here via Vevo, or below via YouTube.

“Way Out Weather,” the title track off the new Steve Gunn album, “is a sun-dappled, easy highway song, the gleam of guitar pressing against the tarriness of Gunn’s voice,” as described by The Guardian. Shot on bike while on a 1000K trek through Mongolia in 2007, KT Auleta’s video for “Way Out Weather” is an excellent visual accompaniment. The opening shot is a smaller iteration of a prayer mound that Mongolians make at crossroads – the Way Out Weather album cover is a much larger example, photographed on the same journey. KT, who handled the video’s directing, cinematography and editing, explains further below.

“When you pass by a crossroads in Mongolia, you are meant to find a stone, throw it on the pile, and say a prayer, circling it 3 times. It’s for safe travels. On the bigger crossroads the piles can get huge, with prayer flags too. On a smaller one, it’s really little and cute. Traditionally, Mongolians are truly nomadic people. Though it’s getting smaller all the time, most of the population live in tents and move to find grazing for their animals and to sell their wool in the summer. Successful travel is one of the most important things to them.”

Steve-Gunn-Way-Out-Weather-single-artwork-lr

As Stereogum observes:

“It reinforces how well this guy’s music pairs with the right visuals. The camera is often positioned on the handlebars of the moving motorcycle, and that loose quality provides an easy grace to all the amazing sights captured here, whether it be a mountainside or just two kids messing around with a ball. It’s stronger for its unpretentious style, and the song gently moves along with a similarly easy grace.” 

Way Out Weather is out October 7th, and available for pre-order now.

LP/CD – http://www.paradiseofbachelors.com/pob-15
iTunes – http://smarturl.it/SteveGunn_WoW_iTunes
Amazon – http://smarturl.it/SteveGunn_WoW_Amazon
Bandcamp – http://bit.ly/1rMZ6Ts
Indie stores – http://smarturl.it/SteveGunn_WoW_indies

Steve-Gunn

STEVE GUNN TOUR DATES (new dates in bold):

Fri. Sept. 5 – Raleigh, NC @ Hopscotch Music Festival
Wed. Sept. 17 – Milwaukee, WI @ Acme Records w/ Michael Chapman
Fri. Sept. 19 – Minneapolis, MN @ Turf Club – Old Familiar Chime Festival w/ Michael Chapman
Sun. Sept. 21 – New Windsor, NY @ Storm King Art Center w/ The Felice Brothers
Sat. Oct. 4 – Hudson, NY @ The Half Moon
Sun. Oct. 5 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Rowhouse Theater – VIA Festival
Sun. Oct. 6 – Louisville, KY @ Dreamland
Tue. Oct. 7 – Chicago, IL @ Schubas
Wed. Oct. 8 – Bloomington, IN @ The Bishop
Thu. Oct. 9 – Nashville, TN @ The Stone Fox
Fri. Oct. 10 – Durham, NC @ Pinhook
Sat. Oct. 11 – Charlottesville, VA @ Twisted Branch Tea Bazaar
Sun. Oct. 12 – Brooklyn, NY Rough Trade
Mon. Oct. 13 – Boston, MA @ The Great Scott
Tue. Oct. 14 – Montreal, Quebec @ Vitrola
Wed. Oct. 15 – Toronto, ON @ The Drake
Fri. Oct. 17 – Philadelphia, PA @ PhilaMOCA
Mon. Oct. 27 – Berlin, DE @ Heimathafen w/ The War On Drugs
Tue. Oct. 28 – Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso w/ The War On Drugs
Fri. Oct. 31 – Zurich, CH @ Kaufleuten w/ The War On Drugs
Sat. Nov. 1 – Luxembourg, LU @ Rockhal w/ The War On Drugs
Sun. Nov. 2 – Brussels, BE @ Ancienne Belgique w/ The War On Drugs
Tue. Nov. 4 – Liverpool, UK @ 02 Academy w/ The War On Drugs
Wed. Nov. 5 – London, UK @ Roundhouse w/ The War On Drugs
Thu. Nov. 6 – Bristol, UK @ 02 Academy w/ The War On Drugs
Fri. Nov. 7 – Manchester, UK @ The Ritz w/ The War On Drugs
Sat. Nov. 8 – Glasgow, UK @ 02 ABC Glasgow w/ The War On Drugs
Wed. Nov. 12 – London, UK @ Cafe Oto w/ Mike Cooper
Thu. Nov. 13 – St. Leonards, UK @ Kave Gallery

PoB-15-SG-WOW-front-jacket-web